2015 Excellence in Medicine Awards winners

Every year the AMA Foundation honors a select group of physicians and medical students who exemplify the medical profession’s highest values: commitment to service, community involvement, altruism, leadership and dedication to patient care. The inspirational stories of these awardees demonstrate the enormous impact that one person can have in his or her community.

Mark Lachs, MD, MPH

Dr. Debasish Mridha Spirit of Medicine Award

Mark Lachs, MD, MPH
Irene F. and I Roy Psaty Distinguished Professor of Medicine, Weill Medical College
Director, Geriatrics, New York-Presbyterian Health System
Co-director, Cornell Center for Aging Research and Clinical Care
Co-chief, Division of Geriatrics and Palliative Medicine, Weill Medical College
New York, New York

Mark Lachs, MD, MPH, is an internationally recognized expert in the field of elder mistreatment and the disenfranchised elderly. He has published and lectured widely in the areas of elder abuse and neglect, adult protective services, measurement of functional status, ethics, and health care finance. Dr. Lachs’ service to community and country includes membership on an Institute of Medicine Committee to address the training needs of health professionals in family violence. He also sits on the Board of the American Federation for Aging Research and was recently asked to serve as an advisor for the World Health Organization on Elder Abuse.

Dr. Lachs was formally trained as a clinical epidemiologist in the Robert Wood Johnson Clinical Scholars Program at Yale, so his mentoring expertise extends well beyond the content area of elder abuse. He is frequently sought out by trainees both at his institution and elsewhere as a research methodologist in diverse areas of aging.

Source: 2015 Excellence in Medicine Awards winners

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *